Lorain County property records › Cities and villages
Village in Lorain County, Ohio
Wellington, Lorain County
Paper Trail has 2,463 parcels in Wellington from the Lorain County Auditor: owners, values, sales and taxes, as of October 22, 2026.
Property at a glance
Source: Lorain County Auditor owner mailing addresses, 1,564 homes with a mailing address, October 22, 2026. A bill mailed to the home is the closest public sign that the owner lives there; it is not proof.
Mailing lists for Wellington
Owners in Wellington to mail, counted from the county's records today. The price is the whole list; you see the exact count and price again before you pay, and the file downloads when you pay.
No phone numbers or email addresses. Not for screening anyone for housing, a job, credit or insurance.
Home sales by month
56 home sales in Wellington from October 2025 to September 2026, at a median price of $216,450.
| Month | Sales |
|---|---|
| October 2025 | 2 |
| November 2025 | 3 |
| December 2025 | 5 |
| January 2026 | 4 |
| February 2026 | 8 |
| March 2026 | 3 |
| April 2026 | 6 |
| May 2026 | 6 |
| June 2026 | 6 |
| July 2026 | 2 |
| August 2026 | 5 |
| September 2026 | 6 |
Source: Lorain County Auditor, sales it marks as real sales (not family transfers or estates), counted once per deed, by the month of the sale. Data as of October 22, 2026.
Property tax rates
All 1,568 homes in Wellington are in taxing district 670, Wellington Twp-W Vil/W EVSD. Its effective rate on homes is 47.01 mills, and the state estimates the yearly tax on a $100,000 owner-occupied home there at $1,466.
| District | Name | Homes | Voted mills | Effective mills on homes | On a $100,000 home |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 670 | Wellington Twp-W Vil/W EVSD | 1,568 | 63.71 | 47.01 | $1,466 |
A mill is $1 of tax for every $1,000 of assessed value, and Ohio assesses a home at 35% of its appraised value. The effective rate is the voted rate after the state's reduction factors. The $100,000 figure is the state's own estimate for an owner-occupied home, after the owner-occupied credits.
Source: Ohio Department of Taxation, 2025 aggregate property tax rates by taxing district (tax year 2025, paid in 2026), published March 25, 2026. District for each parcel: Lorain County Auditor, October 22, 2026.
Schools
Public schools inside the village line
- McCormick Middle SchoolOhio report card: 2 stars
- Wellington High SchoolOhio report card: 4 stars
- Westwood Elementary SchoolOhio report card: 3.5 stars
Schools and students: National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data, fall 2024 count. Ratings: Ohio Department of Education and Workforce, 2025-26 School Report Cards, the state's own overall star rating for each school. A school is listed here when its address sits inside the boundary.
Library
- Herrick Memorial Public LibraryOpen about 54 hours a week
The Herrick Memorial Public Library had 15,548 visits and lent 73,814 books, movies and e-books in 2024, with 4,259 card holders.
Source: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024 (released June 2026). Figures are for the whole library system.
Crime reported to the FBI
Reported to the FBI by the Wellington Police Department, 2025: 0 violent crimes and 0 property crimes, for about 4,916 people. That is 0 violent and 0 property crimes per 1,000 people.
| Year | Violent | Property | Months | Per 1,000 people |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 0 | 0 | 12 | 0 / 0 |
| 2024 | Not reported | 0 | ||
| 2023 | Not reported | 0 | ||
| 2022 | Not reported | 0 | ||
| 2021 | 1 | 2 | 12 | 0.2 / 0.4 |
| 2020 (partial) | 3 | 16 | 3 | |
Most common offenses in the Wellington Police Department's 2025 incident reports: vandalism 1, assault offenses 1, sex offenses 1.
Reporting varies from agency to agency and year to year, and these numbers are as reported to the FBI. A low count can mean an agency reported only part of the year; a year with no reports is left blank, never counted as zero. Violent crime means murder, rape, robbery and aggravated assault; property crime means burglary, theft and vehicle theft. Paper Trail Ohio adds no score and does not compare places.
Source: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting, Return A and NIBRS files for data years 2020 to 2025 (files dated August 14, 2026), Crime Data Explorer.
Official offices
The official records for Wellington are kept by the county. Paper Trail Ohio is not a government website.
What you can do here
Look up any parcel in Wellington free: owner, values, sales and taxes. Or buy one of the mailing lists for Wellington above.
Wellington on the property map · Every Lorain County mailing list
Nearby
Questions
How many parcels are in Wellington?
2,463 parcels sit inside the Wellington boundary on the Lorain County Auditor's map, 1,568 of them homes, as of October 22, 2026.
What is the median home sale price in Wellington?
$216,450, from 56 home sales the Lorain County Auditor marks as real sales, October 2025 to September 2026.
What is the property tax rate in Wellington?
Most homes in Wellington are in taxing district 670, Wellington Twp-W Vil/W EVSD, with an effective rate on homes of 47.01 mills. The Ohio Department of Taxation estimates the yearly tax on a $100,000 owner-occupied home there at $1,466.
Which public schools are in Wellington?
McCormick Middle School, grades 4 to 8; Wellington High School, grades 9 to 12; Westwood Elementary School, grades K to 3.
Is there a public library in Wellington?
Yes: Herrick Memorial Public Library, 101 Willard Memorial Square.
Who reports crime figures for Wellington to the FBI?
The Wellington Police Department. The page shows each year it reported from 2020 to 2025, with the months reported.