Lake County property records › Cities and villages
City in Lake County, Ohio
Painesville, Lake County
Paper Trail has 7,355 parcels in Painesville from the Lake County Auditor: owners, values, sales and taxes, as of October 22, 2026.
Property at a glance
Source: Lake County Auditor owner mailing addresses, 5,443 homes with a mailing address, October 22, 2026. A bill mailed to the home is the closest public sign that the owner lives there; it is not proof.
Mailing lists for Painesville
Owners in Painesville to mail, counted from the county's records today. The price is the whole list; you see the exact count and price again before you pay, and the file downloads when you pay.
No phone numbers or email addresses. Not for screening anyone for housing, a job, credit or insurance.
Home sales by month
121 home sales in Painesville from October 2025 to September 2026, at a median price of $195,000.
| Month | Sales |
|---|---|
| October 2025 | 12 |
| November 2025 | 10 |
| December 2025 | 10 |
| January 2026 | 7 |
| February 2026 | 7 |
| March 2026 | 10 |
| April 2026 | 14 |
| May 2026 | 16 |
| June 2026 | 15 |
| July 2026 | 10 |
| August 2026 | 10 |
| September 2026 | 0 |
Source: Lake County Auditor, sales it marks as real sales (not family transfers or estates), counted once per deed, by the month of the sale. Data as of October 22, 2026.
Schools
Public schools inside the city line
- Lake Erie Bilingual AcademyOhio report card: 3 stars
- Chestnut Elementary SchoolOhio report card: 3.5 stars
- Elm Street Elementary SchoolOhio report card: 3 stars
- Harvey AcademyNo Ohio report card rating
- Harvey High SchoolOhio report card: 3 stars
- Heritage Middle SchoolOhio report card: 3 stars
- Maple Elementary SchoolOhio report card: 3 stars
Private schools
- Our Shepherd Lutheran School
Schools and students: National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data, fall 2024 count, and Private School Universe Survey, 2023-24. Ratings: Ohio Department of Education and Workforce, 2025-26 School Report Cards, the state's own overall star rating for each school. A school is listed here when its address sits inside the boundary.
Library
- Morley LibraryOpen about 55 hours a week
The Morley Library had 127,920 visits and lent 454,779 books, movies and e-books in 2024, with 18,966 card holders.
Source: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024 (released June 2026). Figures are for the whole library system.
Crime reported to the FBI
Reported to the FBI by the Painesville Police Department, 2025: 46 violent crimes and 93 property crimes, for about 20,754 people. That is 2.22 violent and 4.48 property crimes per 1,000 people.
| Year | Violent | Property | Months | Per 1,000 people |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 46 | 93 | 12 | 2.22 / 4.48 |
| 2024 | 38 | 121 | 12 | 1.83 / 5.84 |
| 2023 | 25 | 96 | 12 | 1.2 / 4.61 |
| 2022 | Not reported | 0 | ||
| 2021 | Not reported | 0 | ||
| 2020 | Not reported | 0 | ||
Most common offenses in the Painesville Police Department's 2025 incident reports: assault offenses 206, drug offenses 94, thefts 69.
Reporting varies from agency to agency and year to year, and these numbers are as reported to the FBI. A low count can mean an agency reported only part of the year; a year with no reports is left blank, never counted as zero. Violent crime means murder, rape, robbery and aggravated assault; property crime means burglary, theft and vehicle theft. Paper Trail Ohio adds no score and does not compare places.
Source: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting, Return A and NIBRS files for data years 2020 to 2025 (files dated August 14, 2026), Crime Data Explorer.
Official offices
The official records for Painesville are kept by the county. Paper Trail Ohio is not a government website.
What you can do here
Look up any parcel in Painesville free: owner, values, sales and taxes. Or buy one of the mailing lists for Painesville above.
Painesville on the property map · Every Lake County mailing list
Nearby
Questions
How many parcels are in Painesville?
7,355 parcels sit inside the Painesville boundary on the Lake County Auditor's map, 5,445 of them homes, as of October 22, 2026.
What is the median home sale price in Painesville?
$195,000, from 121 home sales the Lake County Auditor marks as real sales, October 2025 to September 2026.
Which public schools are in Painesville?
Lake Erie Bilingual Academy, grades K to 5; Chestnut Elementary School, grades K to 5; Elm Street Elementary School, grades K to 5; Harvey Academy, grades 9 to 12; Harvey High School, grades 9 to 12; Heritage Middle School, grades 6 to 8; Maple Elementary School, grades PK to 5.
Is there a public library in Painesville?
Yes: Morley Library, 184 Phelps St..
Who reports crime figures for Painesville to the FBI?
The Painesville Police Department. The page shows each year it reported from 2020 to 2025, with the months reported.