Ottawa County property records › Townships
Township in Ottawa County, Ohio
Clay Township, Ottawa County
Paper Trail has 2,767 parcels in Clay Township from the Ottawa County Auditor: owners, values, sales and taxes, as of October 22, 2026.
Property at a glance
Source: Ottawa County Auditor owner mailing addresses, 1,757 homes with a mailing address, October 22, 2026. A bill mailed to the home is the closest public sign that the owner lives there; it is not proof.
Mailing lists for Clay Township
Owners in Clay Township to mail, counted from the county's records today. The price is the whole list; you see the exact count and price again before you pay, and the file downloads when you pay.
No phone numbers or email addresses. Not for screening anyone for housing, a job, credit or insurance.
Home sales by month
57 home sales in Clay Township from October 2025 to September 2026, at a median price of $220,000.
| Month | Sales |
|---|---|
| October 2025 | 5 |
| November 2025 | 6 |
| December 2025 | 4 |
| January 2026 | 1 |
| February 2026 | 5 |
| March 2026 | 3 |
| April 2026 | 3 |
| May 2026 | 7 |
| June 2026 | 7 |
| July 2026 | 3 |
| August 2026 | 9 |
| September 2026 | 4 |
Source: Ottawa County Auditor, sales it marks as real sales (not family transfers or estates), counted once per deed, by the month of the sale. Data as of October 22, 2026.
Property tax rates
Most homes in Clay Township (944 of 1,758) are in taxing district 100, Clay Twp-Genoa Area LSD. Its effective rate on homes is 59.56 mills, and the state estimates the yearly tax on a $100,000 owner-occupied home there at $1,929.
| District | Name | Homes | Voted mills | Effective mills on homes | On a $100,000 home |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 100 | Clay Twp-Genoa Area LSD | 944 | 105.45 | 59.56 | $1,929 |
| 120 | Clay Twp-Genoa Corp/G Area LSD | 765 | 97.20 | 53.21 | $1,712 |
A mill is $1 of tax for every $1,000 of assessed value, and Ohio assesses a home at 35% of its appraised value. The effective rate is the voted rate after the state's reduction factors. The $100,000 figure is the state's own estimate for an owner-occupied home, after the owner-occupied credits.
Source: Ohio Department of Taxation, 2025 aggregate property tax rates by taxing district (tax year 2025, paid in 2026), published March 25, 2026. District for each parcel: Ottawa County Auditor, October 22, 2026.
Schools
Public schools inside the township line
- Genoa Area High SchoolOhio report card: 4 stars
- Genoa Area Middle SchoolOhio report card: 3.5 stars
- Genoa ElementaryOhio report card: 3.5 stars
Private schools
- Community Christian Academy
Schools and students: National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data, fall 2024 count, and Private School Universe Survey, 2023-24. Ratings: Ohio Department of Education and Workforce, 2025-26 School Report Cards, the state's own overall star rating for each school. A school is listed here when its address sits inside the boundary.
Library
- Genoa Branch LibraryOpen about 51 hours a week
The Harris-Elmore Public Library (2 buildings) had 54,288 visits and lent 77,402 books, movies and e-books in 2024, with 4,604 card holders.
Source: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024 (released June 2026). Figures are for the whole library system.
Crime reported to the FBI
Reported to the FBI by the Clay Township Pd, Ottawa Cnty, 2025: 0 violent crimes and 0 property crimes, for about 2,527 people. That is 0 violent and 0 property crimes per 1,000 people.
| Year | Violent | Property | Months | Per 1,000 people |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 0 | 0 | 12 | 0 / 0 |
| 2024 (partial) | 0 | 0 | 9 | |
| 2023 (partial) | 0 | 1 | 11 | |
| 2022 | Not reported | 0 | ||
| 2021 | Not reported | 0 | ||
| 2020 | Not reported | 0 | ||
Most common offenses in the Clay Township Pd, Ottawa Cnty's 2025 incident reports: assault offenses 4, drug offenses 2, vandalism 1.
Reporting varies from agency to agency and year to year, and these numbers are as reported to the FBI. A low count can mean an agency reported only part of the year; a year with no reports is left blank, never counted as zero. Violent crime means murder, rape, robbery and aggravated assault; property crime means burglary, theft and vehicle theft. Paper Trail Ohio adds no score and does not compare places.
Source: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting, Return A and NIBRS files for data years 2020 to 2025 (files dated August 14, 2026), Crime Data Explorer.
Official offices
The official records for Clay Township are kept by the county. Paper Trail Ohio is not a government website.
What you can do here
Look up any parcel in Clay Township free: owner, values, sales and taxes. Or buy one of the mailing lists for Clay Township above.
Clay Township on the property map · Every Ottawa County mailing list
Nearby
Questions
How many parcels are in Clay Township?
2,767 parcels sit inside the Clay Township boundary on the Ottawa County Auditor's map, 1,758 of them homes, as of October 22, 2026.
What is the median home sale price in Clay Township?
$220,000, from 57 home sales the Ottawa County Auditor marks as real sales, October 2025 to September 2026.
What is the property tax rate in Clay Township?
Most homes in Clay Township are in taxing district 100, Clay Twp-Genoa Area LSD, with an effective rate on homes of 59.56 mills. The Ohio Department of Taxation estimates the yearly tax on a $100,000 owner-occupied home there at $1,929.
Which public schools are in Clay Township?
Genoa Area High School, grades 9 to 12; Genoa Area Middle School, grades 6 to 8; Genoa Elementary, grades PK to 5.
Is there a public library in Clay Township?
Yes: Genoa Branch Library, 602 West St..
Who reports crime figures for Clay Township to the FBI?
The Clay Township Pd, Ottawa Cnty. The page shows each year it reported from 2020 to 2025, with the months reported.