Richland County property records › Cities and villages
Village in Richland County, Ohio
Butler, Richland County
Paper Trail has 737 parcels in Butler from the Richland County Auditor: owners, values, sales and taxes, plus deeds and mortgages from the Recorder, as of October 22, 2026.
Property at a glance
Source: Richland County Auditor owner mailing addresses, 329 homes with a mailing address, October 22, 2026. A bill mailed to the home is the closest public sign that the owner lives there; it is not proof.
Mailing lists for Butler
Owners in Butler to mail, counted from the county's records today. The price is the whole list; you see the exact count and price again before you pay, and the file downloads when you pay.
No phone numbers or email addresses. Not for screening anyone for housing, a job, credit or insurance.
Schools
Public schools inside the village line
- Butler Elementary SchoolOhio report card: 4.5 stars
- Clear Fork Valley PreschoolNo Ohio report card rating
Other schools in the Clear Fork Valley Local district
- Bellville Elementary SchoolOhio report card: 4 stars
- Clear Fork High SchoolOhio report card: 3.5 stars
- Clear Fork Middle SchoolOhio report card: 3 stars
Schools and students: National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data, fall 2024 count. Ratings: Ohio Department of Education and Workforce, 2025-26 School Report Cards, the state's own overall star rating for each school. A school is listed here when its address sits inside the boundary.
Library
- Butler Branch LibraryOpen about 57 hours a week
The Mansfield-Richland County Public Library (9 buildings and 1 bookmobile) had 514,540 visits and lent 1,567,119 books, movies and e-books in 2024, with 57,681 card holders.
Source: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024 (released June 2026). Figures are for the whole library system.
Crime reported to the FBI
Reported to the FBI by the Butler Police Department, 2022 (8 of 12 months): 0 violent and 1 property crime. No full year was reported from 2020 to 2025, so no rate is given.
| Year | Violent | Property | Months | Per 1,000 people |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | Not reported | 0 | ||
| 2024 | Not reported | 0 | ||
| 2023 | Not reported | 0 | ||
| 2022 (partial) | 0 | 1 | 8 | |
| 2021 (partial) | 0 | 2 | 8 | |
| 2020 (partial) | 0 | 0 | 10 | |
Most common offenses in the Butler Police Department's 2022 incident reports: thefts 1.
Reporting varies from agency to agency and year to year, and these numbers are as reported to the FBI. A low count can mean an agency reported only part of the year; a year with no reports is left blank, never counted as zero. Violent crime means murder, rape, robbery and aggravated assault; property crime means burglary, theft and vehicle theft. Paper Trail Ohio adds no score and does not compare places.
Source: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting, Return A and NIBRS files for data years 2020 to 2025 (files dated August 14, 2026), Crime Data Explorer.
Official offices
The official records for Butler are kept by the county. Paper Trail Ohio is not a government website.
What you can do here
Look up any parcel in Butler free: owner, values, sales and taxes, and the deeds and mortgages on it. Or buy one of the mailing lists for Butler above.
Butler on the property map · Every Richland County mailing list
Questions
How many parcels are in Butler?
737 parcels sit inside the Butler boundary on the Richland County Auditor's map, 348 of them homes, as of October 22, 2026.
Which public schools are in Butler?
Butler Elementary School, grades K to 5; Clear Fork Valley Preschool, grade PK.
Is there a public library in Butler?
Yes: Butler Branch Library, 21 Elm St..
Who reports crime figures for Butler to the FBI?
The Butler Police Department. The page shows each year it reported from 2020 to 2025, with the months reported.